

### **SPORTS NEWS**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: APRIL 30, 2007

### FIRST CORBIN FINANCIAL CORPORATION/KHSAA SPORTSMANSHIP BANQUET SUNDAY

The 2007 First Corbin Financial Corporation/KHSAA Sportsmanship Recognition Banquet is set for this Sunday, May 6, beginning at 5 p.m. at the Embassy Suites in Lexington. This marks the 11<sup>th</sup> year of the program recognizing outstanding sportsmanship.

KHSAA member schools each select one boy and one girl as the local school sportsmanship winner. School winners are then eligible to be selected as the regional winner. From the 32 regional winners, one boy and one girl will be selected as the state winner and receive a one-time \$3,000 scholarship courtesy of First Corbin Financial Corporation. Selection criteria includes: Grade-Point-Average; letters of recommendations; leadership roles/honors; response to case study essay; verification of no game disqualifications.

Each regional winner receives a plaque, a mantle clock from the KHSAA Officials Division and a windbreaker and \$200 book scholarship courtesy of First Corbin.

# Following are the regional winners:

Region 1- Samantha Workman (Hickman County); Michael Gossum (Graves County)

Region 2 - Tredene Davis (Madisonville-North Hopkins); Zack Wright (Trigg County)

Region 3 - Ashley Prince (Owensboro); Brad Bilbro (Muhlenberg North)

Region 4 - Erika Murphy (Cumberland County); Marcus Steele (Warren Central)

Region 5 - BreAnna Milby (Green County); Troy Meno (Ft. Knox)

Region 6 - Kathleen Thompson (Bullitt East); Nicholas George (Pleasure Ridge Park)

Region 7 - Haley Kilgore (Jeffersontown); Jared Stafford (Christian Academy-Louisville)

Region 8 - Rachel Sipp (South Oldham); Joshua Shipp (Grant County)

Region 9 - JoAnn Vrabel (Covington Latin); Nathan Dilts (Dayton)

Region 10 - Katie Robertson (Bourbon County); Collin Jones (Montgomery County)

Region 11 - Kristina Kirk (Woodford County); Cory Kays (Madison Central)

Region 12 - Donald Walker (Mercer County); Ashley Dollins (Rockcastle County)

Region 13 - Ariel Robinson (Williamsburg); A.J. Jusino (Williamsburg)

Region 14 - Tabitha Crane (Estill County); Matthew Williams (Hazard)

Region 15 - Olivia Harris (Pikeville); Aaron Warren (Belfry)

Region 16 - Clerrinda Walker (West Carter); Chris Harris (Raceland)

# SIX STUDENTS SELECTED TO ATTEND NFHS NATIONAL STUDENT LEADERSHIP CONFERENCE

Six students have been selected to represent the KHSAA and attend the 2007 National Federation of High School Associations' Student Leadership Conference. The Conference is scheduled for July 19-22 and will be held in Indianapolis, Ind.

Over 300 students from throughout the United States will be in attendance. Attendees will hear from motivational speakers, perform community service and experience breakout sessions on topics such as hazing, leadership and safe practices. The students will also return to serve as advisors and staff the KHSAA HYPE Student Leadership Conference scheduled for August 29.

Congratulations to the following selected to attend:

Raven Price (Henry Clay), Lauren Duvall (Bourbon County), Lauren Forsythe (Paris)

Alex Boswell (Logan County), Trey Edwards (Lincoln County), Matthew Schumann (Model)

The entire trip is funded by T-Mobile through a corporate sponsorship with the NFHS.

### **UPCOMING KHSAA EVENTS**

May 6	First Corbin/KHSAA Sportsmanship Recognition Banquet, Lexington

May 14-15 KHSAA Board of Control Meeting, Lexington

May 14-19 Regional Tennis Tournaments

May 19 KHSAA Slow Pitch Softball State Tournament

May 21-26 Regional Track Meets

May 21-26 District Baseball & Fast Pitch Softball Tournaments

May 24-26 Fifth Third/KHSAA Boys' & Girls' State Tennis Tournaments, Lexington

May 28-June 2 Regional Baseball & Fast Pitch Softball Tournaments

June 1-2 State Track & Field Meet, Lexington

June 6-8 Semi-State Baseball Series

June 8-9 Fast Pitch Softball, Jeffersontown

June 13-16 Fifth Third/KHSAA State Baseball Tournament
June 19 Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame Golf Scramble (for 2008 Class)