Kentucky High School Athletic Association



2280 Executive Drive ° Lexington, KY 40505 ° www.khsaa.org ° (859)299-5472 (859)293-5999 (fax)

Sports News

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: APRIL 26, 2010

COREY, WILSON HONORED AS STATEWIDE SPORTSMANSHIP WINNERS

Moriah Corey of Butler and Neil Wilson of Monroe County were named the statewide winners in the Forcht Group of Kentucky/Kentucky National Insurance/KHSAA Sportsmanship Recognition Program at the annual banquet held on Sunday, April 25 at the KHSAA Office in Lexington.

Both winners receive a one-time \$3,000 scholarship, courtesy of the Forcht Group of Kentucky and Kentucky National Insurance. Each of the 32 regional winners were also recognized and honored at the banquet. Each winner received a plaque, a mantle clock from the KHSAA Officials Division and a \$200 book scholarship courtesy of Forcht Group of Kentucky and Kentucky National Insurance.

This year's banquet marked the 14th year of the program recognizing outstanding sportsmanship. KHSAA member schools selected one girl and one boy as the local sportsmanship winner. School winners were then eligible to be selected as the regional winner. From the 32 regional winners (one girl and one boy from each of Kentucky's 16 regions), the statewide winners were selected. Selection criteria includes grade point average, letters of recommendation, leadership roles/honors, response to a case study essay and verification of no game disqualifications.

The following individuals were recognized as regional winners:

Region 1 – Brooks Heath (Mayfield), Lacy Roberson (Fulton County)

Region 2 – Nate Dyer (Caldwell County), Brittany Doom (Lyon County)

Region 3 – Clint Board (Breckinridge County), Renee Hunter (Owensboro)

Region 4 – Neil Wilson (Monroe County), Shelby Lawson (Bowling Green)

Region 5 – Ethan Paulley (Nelson County), Kamika Joyner (Fort Knox)

Region 6 – Kevin Carrillo (Butler), Moriah Corey (Butler)

Region 7 – Conner English (Christian Academy-Louisville), Allison Karst (Christian Academy-Louisville)

Region 8 – Weston Ott (Simon Kenton), Elena Bertuccio (North Oldham)

Region 9 – Shane Coltharp (Beechwood), Paige Gooch (Beechwood)

Region 10 – Tyler Murphy (Montgomery County), Paige Compton (Montgomery County)

Region 11 – Bennett Coffey (Woodford County), Chelsea Harnack (Model)

Region 12 – Joseph Vanhook (Lincoln County), Amy Jones (McCreary Central)

Region 13 – Scott Muffly (Corbin), Lyndsay Collette (South Laurel)

Region 14 – Blake Crowe (Estill County), April Hall (Estill County)

Region 15 – Heath Ward (Johnson Central), Hannah Thompson (Pike County Central)

Region 16 – Dalcus Sparks (Menifee County), Lindsey Hale (Menifee County)

UPCOMING EVENTS/MEETINGS

May 6-7	KHSAA Board of Control Meeting, Lexington
May 15	Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame Banquet, Lexington Center, Lexington
May 27-29	Boys' and Girls' State Tennis Tournament, UK Boone/Downing Tennis Center and Sayre
	Athletic Complex, Lexington
June 3, 5	Boys' and Girls' State Track Meet at the University of Louisville, Louisville
June 11-12	State Fast Pitch Softball Tournament at Jack C. Fisher Park, Owensboro
June 14-19	Forcht Bank/KHSAA State Baseball Tournament at Applebee's Park, Lexington

-- KHSAA --

About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501 3(c) organization made up of 280 member schools both public and private. The KHSAA sanctions state championships in 19 sports, licenses and trains over 3,900 officials, provides catastrophic insurance for its member school student athletes as well as overseeing coaching education and medical symposium programs.