

Kentucky High School Athletic Association

2280 Executive Drive ° Lexington, KY 40505 ° www.khsaa.org ° (859)299-5472 (859)293-5999 (fax)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: APRIL 20, 2011

REGIONAL SPORTSMANSHIP WINNERS ANNOUNCED

A total of 32 student-athletes have been announced as regional winners for the 2011 Forcht Group of Kentucky/Kentucky National Insurance KHSAA Sportsmanship Awards.

The winners, one boy and one girl from each of the state's 16 regions, will be honored at a banquet, scheduled for Sunday, May 1, at the KHSAA Office in Lexington. Each winner receives a \$200 book scholarship and a mantle clock, courtesy of the KHSAA Officials Division. One boy and one girl will receive a one-time \$3,000 scholarship, courtesy of Forcht Group of Kentucky and Kentucky National Insurance.

Selection criteria for the awards include grade point average, letters of recommendation, leadership roles/honors, response to a case study essay and verification of no game disgualifications.

The following individuals were recognized as regional winners:

- Region 1 Jason Straub (Heath), Peyton Vaughan (St. Mary)
- Region 2 Jared Stallons (Trigg County), Janell Cooper (Caldwell County)
- Region 3 Kal Prince (Owensboro), Paige Kramer (Daviess County)
- Region 4 Nelson Price (Cumberland County), Taylor Watson (Cumberland County)
- Region 5 Bryan Goottee (Marion County), Valerie Whitlock (LaRue County)
- Region 6 Jacob Read (Bullitt East), Shelby Ritchie (Presentation)
- Region 7 Chris Lawrence (St. Xavier), Jenna Rogers (Christian Academy-Louisville)
- Region 8 T. Luke Magness (Henry County), Rebecca Saylor (Grant County)
- Region 9 Parker Ryle (Conner), Katie Ransdell (Villa Madonna)
- Region 10 Jake Schultz (Campbell County), Mandi McLean (Nicholas County)
- Region 11 Hunter Stewart (Lexington Christian), Alexandra Kubala (Model)
- Region 12 Colby Hall (Somerset), Charissa Burkett (Pulaski County)
- Region 13 Jeffrey Poston (South Laurel), Kayla Sears (Whitley County)
- Region 14 James M. Reed (Powell County), Hillary Moore (Leslie County)
- Region 15 Noah Hamilton (Pikeville), Mikayla Charles (Phelps)
- Region 16 Tyler Farley (Raceland), Chelsey McDermott (Bath County)

BASEBALL AND SOFTBALL DRAW SHOW TELEVISED LIVE

For the second consecutive year the draw show for the 2011 baseball and softball state tournaments will be broadcast live on www.khsaa.tv.

The draw show gets underway at 2:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 26. Each tournament's opening round matchups will be determined by blind draw of each of the state's 16 regions.

UPCOMING EVENTS

- May 1 Forcht Group of Kentucky/Kentucky National Insurance Sportsmanship Awards Banquet, KHSAA Office, Lexington
- KHSAA Officials Recognition Banguet, KHSAA Office, Lexington May 15
- May 19 KHSAA Board of Control Meeting, KHSAA Office, Lexington